Awake In Your Sleep

by Jonah Vin

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $5 USD  or more




At the heart of Jonah Vin is the collaboration between cousins Gary Battreall (guitar, vocals, percussion) and Jesse "Buzz" Mata (guitar, recording). Playing in various bands together over the last decade, in their hometown of San Antonio, Texas, the pair's musical taste and songwriting ability developed together, to the point that in the summer of 2011, they teamed up with multi-instrumentalist cousin and occasional collaborator Luis Tapia to begin demoing songs for what would become their debut album, "Awake In Your Sleep".

The 8 track, 38-min, full-length, produced by guitarist Mata, features cohesive pop songwriting with expansive instrumental sections. Simultaneously jagged and ethereal, quick time signature changes become commonplace, but the chaos is broken by deep grooves from the rhythm section, making it an easy listen. Reminiscing lyrics about life, God, family, partying, childhood, and love elicit an appreciative response, reminding you of mistakes made and all those who forgave you.

Look Mexico guitarist Ryan Slate took over bass playing duties for the recording of the album, while the live band was recently joined by Andy Alex (drums) and Alex Esquivel (bass). Though most often seen live as a four-piece, the band can take on various forms, depending on the circumstances of the evening. It is not rare to see Jonah Vin as a two-piece with Buzz syncing tracks between the gaps in his organized noodling and Gary playing drums and keyboards simultaneously, while singing.

"Awake In Your Sleep" is a beautiful auditory spectacle, an impressive debut by an exciting band just starting their journey. The band is already at work on a follow-up EP and touring plans for the rest of the year.


released July 15, 2013

Produced by Jesse Mata

Mixed and Mastered By Anthony Granato at Chris Lieck Studios

"From The Top" Mixed And Mastered By Ben Blank at Ben Blank Audio

Additional Engineering by Will Moghanloo, Alexander Scott, and Landon Trombley

Additional vocals on "It Was Written" - Matt Agrella
Additional vocals on "Blown" - Marisa Flores
Bass guitar - Ryan Slate

Recorded at Bismeaux Studios, Studio 57, Mediatech Institute, and Ben Blank Audio

Artwork by : Chase Slate and Jerrod Landon Porter

Jonah Vin is;
Gary Battreall : guitar, vocals, percussion
Jesse "Buzz" Mata : guitar, recording
Andy Alex : drums
Alex Esquivel : bass



all rights reserved


Holy Hell Tallahassee, Florida

a small Florida indie label (2012-2015). Downloads still available.

contact / help

Contact Holy Hell

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code